Message to AAUP members from Dr. Pippa Holloway

September 26, 2016
Dear Fellow AAUP Members,

Welcome to the website of the MTSU chapter of the American Association of University Professors. Since its founding in 1915, the AAUP has played a ey part in shaping higher education in the US by promoting quality in education and defending academic freedom. If you have any questions or need to contact MTSU's AAUP chapter, please email Pippa Holloway, Chapter President 2016-17 at or


February 2, 2017

Below is some information about elections for leadership positions in the AAUP’s Assembly of State Conferences. A state conference is formed when several chapters in a state decide to work together to advance AAUP policies and goals. Through a state conference, existing chapters are able to have more influence statewide and new chapters can find the support and guidance they need closer to home. The Assembly of State Conferences (ASC) is the umbrella organization for individual state AAUP conferences.

The members of the ASC Nominating Committee are:

Jim Klein, Chair, Del Mar College
Sally Dear-Healey, SUNY Cortland
Nancy McKenney, Eastern Kentucky University

The committee worked collaboratively to recruit and review candidates for the 2017 ASC election. Electronic notices were sent to all members in states with active conferences on December 5. In addition, multiple call-for-nominations emails were sent to various national and state leadership bodies of the AAUP, and complete information was posted on the AAUP website and social media sites.

In 2017, the ASC membership will elect one ASC Executive Committee member: one of the Member-at-Large positions. This seat will be elected by delegates to the June 16 ASC meeting in Washington, DC. Nominations for Member at Large may also be made from the floor of the June ASC meeting, providing that nominees receive written endorsement from no fewer than three authorized delegates to the Assembly.

The Nominating Committee sought to find at least two candidates for this position. The process resulted in six candidates completing the requirements to be placed on the ballot. The list of candidates is below.

2017 Nominees for the ASC Executive Committee position of Member-At-Large:

Michael Behrent, Appalachian State
Frederick Brodzinski, CUNY
Jose Chestnut, UMDNJ
Dan Murphy, Hanover College
Gregory Machacek, Marist College
Scott Sheidlower, CUNY

Election of ASC Officers

The election for the office of Member-At-Large will take place at the ASC annual meeting on the June 16, 2017, in Washington, DC. The Member-At-Large position shall be elected by a majority vote of delegates present and voting at the time of the casting of ballots. If there is no majority for an office after an initial balloting, the voting shall take place immediately again. No candidates shall be dropped from the voting unless they withdraw voluntarily.

 January 23, 2017

Some of you may be interested in the AAUP's statement "Higher Education after the 2016 Election." . 

The Delegate Assembly of the MLA in Philadelphia approved a resolution that calls on the association to endorse the AAUP's statement.