

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Aug. 19, 2015, 2:30 p.m. MTSU Faculty Senate Chambers

Members Present – Mark Abolins, Don Aliquo, Martha Balachandran, Tom Black, Alan Boehm, Larry Burriss, William Canak, Hyrum Carroll, Alphonse Carter, Laura Cochrane, John Dougan, , Mark Doyle, Meredith Dye, Tricia Farwell, Michelle Finch, Paul Fischer, Sekou Franklin, Buddy Freeman, Justin Gardner, Joshua Harms, Jeannie Harrington, Joseph Hawkins, Robert Kalwinsky, Paul Kline, Alfred Lutz, Preston MacDougall, Mary Martin, Ann McCullough, Scott McDaniel, David Otts, Richard Pace, John Pennington, Michael Principe, Chris Quarto, Deana Raffo, Jason Reineke, Lauren Rudd, Kristi Shamburger, Michelle Stevens, Barbara Turnage, Zhifu Yang

Members Absent - Mamit Deme, Joey Gray, Shane Smith

Members Excused - Tina Hall, Yang Kim, Martha Weller, Kristen West

Non -Members Substituting for Regular Members – Xiaowei Shi, Nat Smith

Additional Attendees – (See minutes below)

Agenda

- 1. Roll call- The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by President Tricia Farwell.
- 2. Meeting Minutes The May 2015 minutes were approved
- 3. Budget:

Travel:	\$1,600.00
Foundation:	\$449.16
General Operating:	\$3,300.00

- 4. Kathy Crisp (Bookstore), discussed the proposed textbook "bundling" program. Many senators expressed skepticism of the program, particularly the requirement that students are forced to purchase all books in the "bundle," even if they already have one (or more) of the books.
- 5. Jeannie Harrington was elected College of Business senator on the Steering/Liaison Committee.
- 6. There are still vacancies in a number of standing committees.

- 7. Forrest Hall President McPhee will convene committee to study the renaming of the building.
- 8. Evaluations of administrators are now confidential. Can the Faculty Senate conduct its own evaluations?

9. Even with two graduation ceremonies, attendance is pushing fire safety standards in Murphy Center. Is there any support for a graduate student only ceremony?

- 10. March 2016 will be the 50th anniversary of the Faculty Senate. A committee will be appointed to plan a celebration.
- 11. Still need senators in biology and math. Unfilled slots stay unfilled for the year.
- 12. TBR is conducting a series of meeting regarding state-mandated accessibility rules.
- 13. October's guest speaker will be from the Higher Education Resource Office.
- 14. Alfred Lutz (TBR Faculty Sub-Council Representative):
 - * TBR committed to tenure, but there may be future discussion of post-tenure review.
 - * A new on-line newspaper "The Conversation" < https://theconversation.com/us > may be of interest to faculty.
 - * Is there a connection between tuition and number of hours attempted? Students are more likely to graduate if they take more hours (15 vs 12) per semester. Do we need to encourage students to take 15 hours? Are there other factors?
 - * TBR is looking at adjunct pay, which Adjunct pay hasn't changed since 1998.
 - * FTT three-year rolling contracts are being reviewed. Only the University of Memphis and East Tennessee State University have policy whereby the faculty member is reviewed annually, so there is no need for a formal renewal and review process.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Larry L. Burriss 2015-2016 Faculty Senate Recording Secretary