

Faculty Senate
Meeting Minutes
Dec. 7, 2015
MTSU Faculty Senate Chambers

Members Present – Mark Abolins, Murat Arik, Martha Balachandran, Tom Black, Alan Boehm, Larry Burriss, William Canak, Hyrum Carroll, Alphonse Carter, Laura Cochrane, Mamit Deme, John Dougan, Mark Doyle, Tricia Farwell, Michelle Finch, Paul Fischer, Sekou Franklin, Justin Gardner, Tina Hall, Joshua Harms, Jeannie Harrington, Robert Kalwinsky, Yang Kim, Paul Kline, Alfred Lutz, Mary Martin, Scott McDaniel, David Otts, John Pennington, Andrea Phillips (for Jason Reineke), Michael Principe, Chris Quarto, Terry Quinn, Deana Raffo, Lauren Rudd, Kristi Shamburger, Shane Smith, Barbara Turnage, Martha Weller, Kristen West, Zhifu Yang

Members Absent – Don Aliquo, Andy Brower, Buddy Freeman, Joseph Hawkins, Preston MacDougall, Ann McCullough, Michelle Stevens

Members Excused - Meredith Dye, Joey Gray, Richard Pace, Jason Reineke,

Additional Attendees - Bruce Petryshak, Rick Sluder

Agenda

Roll call- The meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. by President Tricia Farwell.

- 1. Bruce Petryshak ITD Conversion Funding
 - * Cost will be \$1,200-1,400 per computer.
 - * Non-academic departments have to fund their own computer replacement.
 - * Money intended for replacement was used to off-set budget decreases.
 - * The University will institute a five-year replacement cycle.
 - * Departments are asked not to "stockpile" computers. Computer that are not being used can be recycled to areas that need them.
 - * Inventory/replacement will be controlled by deans & departments.
- 2. Rick Sluder (for Brian Hinote) Advising software demonstration

- * New software from EAB SSC (Educational Advisory Board/Student Success Collaborative will be installed in February 2016.
- * Each department will have a point=person to help with adoption.
- * The software will allow multiple functions for advising and tracking student progress.
- 3. Minutes from the November meeting were approved.
- 4. Treasurer report

Foundation Account \$457.16 General Accounting \$1,254.42 Travel Account - \$637.25

- 5. Mary Martin D2L availability
 - * ITD can do a first day minus 10 and last day plus 10. This will allow D2L to be available 10 days before the start of a semester and 10 days after the end of a semester.
 - * Individual instructors can change the default date to earlier or later.
 - * A motion was made and seconded to request ITD adopt the +/- 10 day schedule as the default availability for D2L. Passed.
- 6. Updates from President Farwell.
 - A. * President has recognized faculty concerns concerning campus safety. .
 - * Campus Police Chief Buddy Peaster will talk to the Faculty Senate in the Spring 2016 semester.
 - * Every room with a key swipe should have a "panic box" which will lock the door and prevent entrance from the outside.
 - B. Does the Faculty Handbook contain policy that is supplemental to a faculty member's employment contract?
 - * According to University Council Heidi Zimmerman, the best answer is "yes and no." The handbook contains both "policy" and "best practice" recommendations.
 - * Many TBR schools are revising their handbook.
 - C. TBR Reorganization.
 - * No real new information.
 - * A press release announced compositions of steering and working committees.
 - * A motion was made and seconded to establish a committee to monitor progress of the reorganization. Motion failed to pass.
 - D. Changes in IRB procedures are leading to some confusion.

- * Interim Graduate Dean Jackie Eller will be invited to speak to the Faculty Senate in the coming Spring 2016 semester about the changes.
- E. A sample from one class indicates students seem to like the new IncludED program.
 - * 76% said the liked the program.
 - * 67% said they would do it again

TBR Subcouncil: No report

Forrest Hall Renaming:

- * The next Forrest Hall Committee meeting will be in the Spring, probably at an off-campus site for more community access
- * A web site has been created for public comment.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Larry L. Burriss 2015/2016 Secretary