

Faculty Senate
Meeting Minutes
May 2, 2016
MTSU Faculty Senate Chambers

Members Present – Mark Abolins, , Murat Arik, Martha Balachandran, Tom Black, Alan Boehm, Andrew Brower, Larry Burriss, William Canak, Mamit Deme, John Dougan, Mark Doyle, Tricia Farwell, Michelle Finch, Paul Fischer, Sekou Franklin, Buddy Freeman, Justin Gardner, Joey Gray, Tina Hall, Joshua Harms, Robert Kalwinsky, Yang Kim, Paul Kline, Alfred Lutz, Preston MacDougall, Scott McDaniel, David Otts, Richard Pace, John Pennington, Deana Raffo, Jason Reineke, Lauren Rudd, Saleh Sbenaty, Kristi Shamburger, Michelle Stevens, Barbara Turnage, Martha Weller, Kristen West, Zhifu Yang

Members Absent – Don Aliquo, Tammy Bahmanziari, Hyrum Carroll, Alphonse Carter, Meredith Dye, Joseph Hawkins, Mary Martin, Ann McCullough, Michael Principe, Chris Quarto, Terry Quinn, Shane Smith,

Members Excused - Laura Cochrane

\_\_\_\_\_

The May 2, 2016 meeting of the MTSU Faculty Senate was called to order at 4:30 by President Tricia Farwell.

President McPhee addressed the Senate regarding the recently SACS reaccreditation which MTSU passed with no deficiencies.

President McPhee assisted in the dedication of a Faculty Senate 50th anniversary plaque.

New Senators were introduced and outgoing Senators were recognized for their service to the Senate and MTSU.

A new steering committee was selected. The steering committee members for 2016/2017 are:

# **Basic and Applied Sciences**

Mark Abolins Preston MacDougal

### Behavioral and Health Sciences

Lauren Rudd Sherri Stevens

## **Business**

Murat Arik Deana Raffo

#### Education

Michelle Stevens Vacancy

### Liberal Arts

Vacancy Vacancy

### Media and Entertainment

Larry Burriss Robert Kalwinsky

## **University College**

**David Otts** 

Kristen West (Walker Library) was elected as the recording secretary for the 2016/2017 year.

#### Budget:

General Operating \$540.52 Travel 20.51 Foundation Account 467.16

Minutes from the April 11, 2016 meeting were approved.

Mary Martin presented a report from the Senate committee studying Standing Committees. Passed.

### Faculty Awards

Discussion of forms to be used in selecting award winners. Trish Farwell and Mary Martin will work on proposals for new selection

Trish Farwell and Mary Martin will work on proposals for new selection criteria and procedures.

Articles on Shared Governance were presented and passed. They will be forwarded to University administrators for comment.

TBR Faculty Subcouncil (Alfred Lutz)

TBR is working on guidelines for non-credit service or internship.

A TBR safety & security taskforce is preparing a survey for distribution to the campuses.

The TBR Accessibility initiative should provide templates to assist faculty in preparing class materials.

TBR has research grant money available to provided five research grants to each campus. Pam Knox at TBR is the contact person.

TBR working on "pathways" for grad student success.

Discussion of faculty appointment procedures for the new local boards. A motion was made and passed to expedite the faculty selection process and to insure maximum participation by the faculty board members.

The Senate discussed the proliferation of training modules and questioned the purpose and effectiveness of the modules.

The Senate discussed a possible change in meeting times. No motion was made.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Larry L. Burriss 2015/2016 Recording Secretary