

Faculty Senate
Meeting Minutes
August 25, 2010, 1:30pm
Faculty Senate Chambers

Members Present

M. Arndt, M. Baggarly, C. Beauchamp, S. Boyd, J. Brickey, T. Brinthaupt, K. Butler, R. Butler, R. Clark, C. Cooper, W. Cribb, K. Darby, J. Dooley, J. Dowdy, L. Dubek, P. Fischer, B. Freeman, C. Frost, C. Harris, R. Henderson, R. Hoffman, Z. Khan, A. Lutz, J. Maynor, T. Perry, M. Rice, J. Rich, L. Selva, S. Taylor, M. Weller, D. Winborn, G. Zlotky

Members Absent

S. Daugherty

Members Excused

F. Amey, N. Callender, L. Fisher, T. Greer, R. Heinrich, W. Ilsley, P. Kelly, R. McBride, H.W. Means, K. Nofsinger, P. Oliver, S. Rawls, C. Stephens, P. Wall, B. Wallace

Additional Attendees

Call to Order:

W. Cribb, 2010-2011 Faculty Senate President, called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m. in the Faculty Senate Chambers. Senators signed the roll on arrival.

Approval of Minutes:

Paul Fischer moved to approve the meeting minutes from May 3, 2010. Laura Dubek seconded the motion. The minutes were approved by majority vote.

Treasurers Report:

Operating Expense: \$4963.24

Travel Budget for the 2010-2011 AY is \$400.00.

Foundation Balance: \$590.79

President's Report:

<u>Summer Updates</u> dated July 1 and July 27th were sent out by email to all senators.

<u>Standing Committees</u>: There may be a need to change the bylaws regarding vacancies on standing committees when faculty unable to serve. (i.e. already serving on two committees).

<u>Upcoming Senate Meeting Speakers:</u> Dr. Rich Rhoda is unable to attend the September 13th meeting as planned. W. Cribb will check to see if he is available on an alternate date, or if another THEC representative is available to meet with the Senate prior to the General Assembly vote on the Complete College Tennessee Act 2010. Dr. Charles Manning and Senators Bill Ketron and Jim Tracy are confirmed for the October 11th and November 8th meetings respectively. Both Senators are members of the Senate Education Committee. There was discussion regarding the need to be visible during the Complete College Act hearings. Need to obtain the names of Representatives on the House Education Committee as well. Will try to have John Morgan, new TBR Chancellor, attend a senate meeting this year.

<u>Faculty Blackout Tailgate</u>: Flyer distributed. The goal is to sell 300 tickets for the event being held on Tuesday, October 5, 2010 before the football game.

W. Cribb invited senators to consider joining the public Facebook group.

TBR Faculty Sub-council and TUFS Report:

Alfred Lutz summarized the two motions passed by the TBR Faculty Sub-council on 7/24/10 (Handout)

Old Business:

A letter of thanks to Dr. Diane Miller was delivered by Deb Belcher.

New Business:

TUFS Motions considered for approval by the MTSU faculty Senate (Handout)

<u>Motion 1</u> - Motion to approve by Jennifer Dooley. Seconded by Jeremy Rich. Approved by majority vote.

Motion 2 - Motion to approve by Paul Fischer. Seconded by Jeremy Rich. Approved by majority vote.

<u>Motion 3</u> - Motion to approve by Jennifer Dooley, Seconded by Padgett Kelly. Approved by majority vote.

Motion 4 - Motion to approve by Kathleen Darby. Seconded by Paul Fischer. Approved by majority vote.

<u>Motion 5</u> - Discussion centered around the use of the terms "all" and "consensus". Motion to approve by Jennifer Dooley. Seconded by Scott Boyd. Motioned carried by hand vote of 16 Yes and 10 No.

<u>Motion 6</u> – Motion to approve by Jennifer Dooley. Seconded by Jeremy Rich. Approved by majority vote.

<u>Changes to Promotion and Tenure Policy</u>: The Faculty Senate needs to be involved and better informed regarding important policies or guidelines that are having changes proposed.

<u>Revisions to the Grade Appeal Policy:</u> Changes were made that are only editorial in nature. The grade appeals process and policy did not change. Revisions to the Leave Policy make it consistent with current TBR policy.

<u>Steering Committee Representative:</u> The College of Business needs a representative on the Steering Committee

<u>Senate Parliamentarian:</u> Paul Fischer offered to serve as the Parliamentarian.

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned by W. Cribb at 2:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy A. Cooper on behalf of Nate Callender, 2010-2011 FS Recording Secretary