Middle Tennessee State University Faculty Senate Minutes July 14, 2008

1. Roll Call

- a) Members Present: Martha Balachandran, Deborah Belcher, Janis Brickey, Nate Callender, Warner Cribb, Jackie Dowdy, Lawanna Fisher, Gordon Freeman, Barbara Haskew, Nancy Kelker, Alfred Lutz, H. Willis Means, Tara Perry, Ken Rushlow, Kevin Smith, Chris Stephens, Roland Untch, Lita Warise, William Warren, John Wermert.
- **b) Members Excused:** Kim Neal Nofsinger, Stephanie Taylor, Joel Hausler, Phil Oliver, Pat Wall, Jimmie Cain.
- c) Members Absent: Foster Amey, Michael Arndt, Clare Bratten, Larry Burriss, Jessica Carter, Steve Daugherty, Martha Foster, Chuck Frost, Chuck Higgins, William Ilsley, Jeffrey Leblond, Jane Marcellus, Mary Martin, John Maynor, Theresa McBreen, Ron McBride, Alexandra Miller, David Penn, John Pennington, Scott Seipel, Brandon Wallace.

2. President's Report

- a) Introduction of Ms. Gay Johnson, full-time FS Secretary.
- **b**) Budget update.
- c) MTSU efforts to reverse the decline in summer-school enrollment. Dean Michael Boyle (Continuing Education and Distance Learning) will be invited to September meeting.
- **d)** Faculty Senate Retreat update. Topics will be: Workload; Summer School; Budget.

3. Discussion Item

- **a)** Faculty Sick Leave online self-reporting: Consensus that faculty members should not have to submit a report in months in which they have not taken sick leave.
- **b)** Request-For-Faculty-Absence form: Consensus that additional information about the precise purpose of this form needed.

Adjournment