# Minutes from the May Meeting of the Faculty Senate

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate was held on Monday, May 4, 2020 at 3:30 pm. The meeting was conducted virtually via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

# Attendance

Present: Michael Arndt, Sanjay Asthana, Sal Barbosa, Nita Brooks, Larry Burriss, Nancy Caukin, Chong Chen, Laura Cochrane, Rick Cottle, Song Cui, Trevor de Clercq, Andrew Dix, Rudy Dunlap, Latoya Eaves, Rebecca Fischer, Stuart Fowler, Justin Gardner, Bob Gordon, Jenna Gray-Hildenbrand, Shannon Harmon, Michael Hein, Christina Hiers, Pippa Holloway, Seth Jones, Rachel Kirk, Paul Kline, Marcus Knight, Darren Levin, Melissa Lobegeier, Preston MacDougall, Dan Morrell, Pamela Morris, Susan Myers-Shirk, Kari Neely, Deana Raffo, Joan Raines, Patrick Richey, Brian Robertson, Garrett Salmon, Stephen Salter, Scott Seipel, Mary Ellen Sloane, Nat Smith, Raj Srivastava, Zhen Wang, Dennis Walsh, Elizabeth Wright, Andrew Wyatt

Excused: Alfred Lutz,

Absent: Brian Parsons, John Mullane

New Senators Present: Jacob Avila, Emily Baran, Vaughn Barry, Claire Cook, Andrienne Friedli, Rebekka King, Ryan Korstange, Lei Maio, Suzanne, Mangrum, Alicia Pence

# **Call to Order**

President Gardner called the meeting to order at 3:30pm. He introduced Mary Martin, Faculty Trustee, who said she would join in for part of the meeting.

## **Approval of April 2020 Minutes**

Kari Neely moved to approve the April 2020 minutes and Dennis Walsh seconded. The motion carried.

## **Introduction of New Senators**

Garner asked each of the new senators to introduce themselves. Avonda noted any necessary corrections.

# **Reports from Officers and Committees**

<u>Treasury Report</u> Deana Raffo reported the Senate's budget. As of April 31, 2020, the balances are: Travel: \$1,527.14 and Operating: \$2,112.44.

Academic Affairs, Student Life, and Athletics No report

<u>Finance and Personnel</u> No report

#### **Executive and Governance**

No report from the committee. Faculty Trustee, Mary Martin, shared that the Board of Trustees will be having an informational meeting in about 2 ½ weeks to hear ideas and reports regarding the fall and the current COVID-19 crisis.

<u>Audit and Compliance</u> No report

<u>Sustainability Committee</u> No report

<u>President's Report</u> No report

## **Election of 2020-2021 Steering Committee**

Gardner described the Steering Committee structure, responsibilities, and time commitment.

From Basic & Applied Sciences, Brian Robertson (Biology) were nominated. Gardner asked for further nominations from the college. Jake Avila (Construction Management) and Dennis Walsh (Mathematics) self-nominated. Gardner asked that new senators and other non-voting members, refrain from voting. Gardner launched a Zoom poll. The results were as follows: Robertson (49%), Avila (33%), Walsh (19%). The top two nominees, Robertson and Avila, will serve on next year's steering committee.

From Behavioral and Health Sciences, Michael Hein (Psychology), was the sole nominee. The Senate affirmed the nomination. The empty slot will be filled in the fall.

From Jones College of Business, Raj Srivastava (Marketing) and Steven Salter (Accounting) were nominated. There were no further nominations. The Senate affirmed the nominations.

From College of Education, Lando Carter was nominated and declined the nomination. Seth Jones selfnominated. Senate affirmed the nomination. There were no further nominations.

From College of Liberal Arts – Patrick Richey (Communication Studies), Andrew Wyatt (Sociology and Anthro), and Kari Neely (Foreign Languages and Literatures) were nominated. The results were as follows: Richey 36%, Neely 33%, Wyatt 31%. The top two nominations, Richey and Neely, will serve on next year's steering committee.

From College of Media and Entertainment & Library is a cohort with one representative each on the steering committee. Suzanne Mangrum was the only nomination for the Library. Robert Gordon (Media Arts) and Larry Burriss (Journalism) were nominated from Media and Entertainment. The results were Gordon (68%) and Burriss (33%). Mangrum and Gordon will serve on next year's steering committee.

From University College, Joan Raines was the sole nominee. The Senate affirmed the nomination.

# **Old Business**

No old business

## **New Business**

No new business

## **Recognitions/Awards**

Gardner thanked Deana Raffo for serving as Recording Secretary. He also thanked the Steering Committee for their service. He shared that his time on the Senate and as President has been very fulfilling experience. He also thanked Avonda Johnson, Faculty Senate Executive Aid, for her work.

# The Passing of the Gavel/Recognition

Garner shared that he serves as Faculty Senate until the end of May and turned the meeting over to Nita Brooks, Faculty Senate President-Elect. Brooks thanked Avonda, Deana, and Justin for their work on Senate. She closed by sharing that we don't know what the summer and fall is going to bring us and that she will work to keep everyone posted in the summer and as we near the fall semester. She thanked everyone who will serve on the Steering Committee next year.

There was a question about the COVID-19 Task Force. Recommendations due to President McPhee by the end of May. Nita and Justin are on the task force and they asked for Senators to share ideas and give feedback, emphasizing that no decisions have been made and that recommendations are welcome.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:19pm.

Respectfully submitted by Deana Raffo, Recording Secretary