Ex-Officio Graduate Faculty

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues.

Only members of the MTSU Graduate Faculty are eligible to teach 5000/6000/7000 level graduate courses (including dual-listed UG/GR courses) or to serve on thesis or dissertation committees. Graduate faculty members in doctoral degree granting programs who wish to chair a dissertation committee must be endorsed for such service by their program and approved by the graduate dean.

Ex-Officio Members



College of Graduate Studies

Michael D. Allen, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and Dean
Peter H. Cunningham, Re.D., Associate Dean
Melissa Hawkins, Graduate Council Secretary

College of Basic and Applied Sciences

              Bud Fischer, Ph.D., Dean

College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

Harold Whiteside, Ph.D., Dean

Jennings A. Jones College of Business

E. James Burton, Ph.D., Dean

College of Continuing Education and Distance Learning

Mike A. Boyle, Ph.D., Dean

College of Education

Lana C. Seivers, Ed.D., Dean 

Honors College

              John Vile, Ph.D., Dean

College of Liberal Arts

             Mark Byrnes, Ph.D., Dean

College of Media and Entertainment

Roy L. Moore, Ph.D., J.D., Dean