Welcome

Welcome to the graduate program home page for the Department of Health and Human Performance. This site contains information for current students as well as prospective students looking to enroll in exciting graduate degree programs at the second largest institution in the state of Tennessee, located 30 minutes southeast of Nashville. Departmental faculty members strive to provide optimal intellectual challenges and quality research mentoring while students pursue either a Ph.D. in Human Performance or a Master of Science degree.

 Ph.D. in Human Performance (Guidelines Page)

The Department of Health and Human Performance offers a Ph.D. in Human Performance with specializations in five areas:

      1. Exercise Science
      2. Health
      3. Kinesmetrics
      4. Leisure Studies
      5. Physical Education

Master of Science Degrees

The department also offers three Master of Science Degrees:

      1. Health and Human Performance with concentrations in Health and Physical Education
      2. Exercise Science
      3. Leisure and Sport Management

 Applications for Summer/Fall admission must be complete by March 1 and applications for Spring admission must be complete by October 1. Late applicants who meet the admission criteria may be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Area Graduate Coordinator Contact Information:

  1. Exercise Science - Dr. Don Morgan, don.morgan@mtsu.edu
  2. Health - Dr. Norman Weatherby, norman.weatherby@mtsu.edu
  3. Kinesmetrics - Dr. Minsoo Kang, minsoo.kang@mtsu.edu
  4. Leisure & Sport Management / Leisure Studies - Dr. Rudy Dunlap, rudy.dunlap@mtsu.edu
  5. Physical Education - Dr. Don Belcher, don.belcher@mtsu.edu

General questions: HHP Graduate Program Office, 209 Alumni Memorial Gym.  Email: Shirlene.Rea@mtsu.edu;
Phone:  615-898-2147; Fax:  615-898-5276.