International Affairs

International Education & Exchange Committee (IEEC)

History

On August 14, 2009, President McPhee approved the International Education & Exchange Committee (IEEC) to become a University Standing Committee. The ad hoc committee was previouosly established in the Fall of 2000 as the Study Abroad Advisory Subcommittee (SAAS) and renamed the IEEC in the Fall of 2004. President McPhee assigned this committee Special Purpose Committee Status in the Fall of 2005.

Charge

The International Education and Exchange Committee shall be the advisory committee to the Office of Education Abroad in regard to administrative procedures and is responsible for promotion of education abroad opportunities; the evaluation and recommendation of all new study abroad and MTSU faculty and staff-led programs involving student travel; the establishment, application and maintenance of guidelines for safety and liability concerning student travel under the auspices of MTSU; review of study abroad evaluations for safety and liability as well as academic integrity; oversight of current exchange programs, study abroad consortium agreements and recommendation of new consortium agreements; and the facilitation of faculty teaching overseas. The annual activities report as well as committee recommendations are made to the Vice Provost of International Affairs.

IEEC University Standing Committee 2011-2012
VOTING MEMBERS (one vote per member)  
Name Title Position Beginning and End of Term Email MTSU Box
Dr. Beverly Burke Associate Professor of Psychology College of Behavioral and Health Sciences Representative Fall 2010 - Fall 2013 (3 year) bburke@mtsu.edu X104
Dr. Jeanne Fain Assistant Professor of Elementary & Special Education College of Education Representative Fall 2010 - Fall 2013 (3 year) jfain@mtsu.edu X69
Dr. Troy Festervand Professor of Management and Marketing College of Business Representative; TnCIS consortium Fall 2009 - Fall 2012 (3 year) fester@mtsu.edu X290
Dr. Paul Fischer Professor of Recording Industry College of Mass Communication Representative; CCSA consortium Fall 2009 - 2012 (3 year) pfischer@mtsu.edu 0021
Dr. Zaf Khan Assistant Professor of Elementary & Special Educ College of Education Representative Fall 2011 - Fall 2014 (3 year) Zaf.Khan@mtsu.edu 0069
Dr. Vatsala Krishnamani Professor of Mathematical Sciences College of Basic and Applied Sciences Representative Fall 2010 - Fall 2013 (3 year) vkrishna@mtsu.edu 0194
Dr. Jasmin Kwon Assistant Professor of Human Sciences College of Behavioral and Health Sciences Representative; Faculty-led programs Fall 2009 - Fall 2012 (3 year) kwon@mtsu.edu 0086
Dr. Joon Soo Lim Assistant Professor of Journalism College of Mass Communication Representative Fall 2011 - Fall 2014 (3 year) Joon.Lim@mtsu.edu 0064
Dr. Ryan Otter Assistant Professor of Biology College of Basic and Applied Sciences Representative; Faculty-led programs Fall 2009 - Fall 2012 (3 year) rrotter@mtsu.edu 0060
Marisa Recchia Associate Professor of Art College of Liberal Arts Representative; Faculty-led programs Fall 2011 - Fall 2014 (3 year) mrecchia@mtsu.edu 0270
Dr. Moses Tesi Professor of Political Science College of Liberal Arts Representative Fall 2011 - Fall 2014 (3 year) mtesi@mtsu.edu 0029
Dr. Raholanda White Professor of Business Communication & Entrepreneurship College of Business Representative Fall 2010 - Fall 2013 (3 year) rbwhite@mtsu.edu 0040
Matthew Hibdon Study Abroad Returnee Student Representative - CCSA Winter, Faculty-led Europe Summer 2011 Fall 2011 (1 year) mih2c@mtmail.mtsu.edu
 
Clement Dominique Strek
Exchange Student
Student Representative - University of Caen, France, 2011-2012 Fall 2011 (1 year) cds6f@mtmail.mtsu.edu  
           
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS          
Dr. David Schmidt Vice Provost for Int'l Affairs Ex-officio Member   david.schmidt@mtsu.edu 0120
Dr. Doug Heffington Director of Global Studies/Professor of History Ex-officio Member   jheffing@mtsu.edu 0133
Rhonda Waller Director of Education Abroad Ex-officio Member   rwaller@mtsu.edu 0127
Charlie GregoryJosh Stone Director of Campus Recreation Ex-officio Member   cgregory@mtsu.edu jrstone@mtsu.edu 0556
Diane Turnham Associate Athletic Director Ex-officio Member   dturnham@mtsu.edu 0317
Dr. Peter Cunningham Associate Dean of Graduate Studies Ex-officio Member   peterc@mtsu.edu 0042
Dr. Dianna Rust Associate Dean of Continuing Education and Distance Learning Ex-officio Member   drust@mtsu.edu 0054