College of Liberal Arts Advising

 
Students will need their Pipeline username and password to schedule an appointment.
 
Schedule an Advising Appointment

INSTRUCTIONS


The College of Liberal Arts realizes that competent and caring advisors are an essential part of a college student's academic success. We encourage you to find your advisor and meet with him or her regularly. This will not only help your academic progress but can provide you valuable insight on careers or further educational opportunities.

We have designed this page so that students, faculty, and staff have advising information and links to resources in a centralized location. We hope that you use these resources along with regular visits with your advisor.

If you have declared a major, please contact the department secretary and ask to be assigned a faculty advisor. For more information on declaring a major please click here.

If you are a current CLA student and cannot reach your faculty advisor, please contact your College Advisor assigned to you in Pipeline. If you are a prospective CLA student, please contact the College Academic Advisor below assigned to your major and last name. To make sure that all your forms have been completed for graduation please contact our Graduation Coordinator. For information on careers, help preparing your resume, or practice for interviews please contact the Career Coordinator.

Academic Focus Students:  Please contact Lucy Langworthy.

Dr. Lucy Langworthy

Dr. Lucy Langworthy, Advising Manager
Office:  Jones Hall 151
Phones 615-494-7785
Email:  Lucy.langworthy@mtsu.edu

Graduation Coach

Peggy Slater, Graduation Coordinator       
Office:  Jones Hall 163
Phone:  615-898-2787
Email:  Peggy.slater@mtsu.edu 

Ella Weaver

Ella Weaver, Internship Coordinator
Office: Jones Hall 161
Phone: 615-898-2602
Email: Ella.Weaver@mtsu.edu

Advisor, Music

Brad Baumgardner, Advisor
Music
Office:  Jones Hall 113
Phone:  615-494-7649
Email:  Brad.Baumgardner@mtsu.edu

Advisor - Art and Sociology/Anthropology

Sonja Burk, Advisor
Organization Comm & Comm Studies: A-M
 Philosophy: A-M
Religious Studies: A-M
 Theatre & Dance:  A-M          
Office:  Jones Hall 114
Phone:  615-898-5089
Email:  Sonja.Burk@mtsu.edu

Advisor, FL&L, GS and PS

Erin Coker, Advisor
Organization Comm & Comm Studies: N-Z
 Philosophy: N-Z
 Theatre & Dance:  N-Z  
Religious Studies: N-Z        
Office:  Jones Hall 155
Phone:  615-904-8180
Email:  Erin.Coker@mtsu.edu

Karen Austin

 Karen Austin, Advisor
Art & Design:   A-M
Sociology/Anthropology:  A-M
Office:  Jones Hall 115
Phone:  615-494-7648
Email:  Karen.Austin@mtsu.edu

 Kerri French-Nelson

Kerri French-Nelson, Advisor
English:  N-Z
History:  N-Z
Office:  Jones Hall 159
Phone:  615-494-7826
Email:  Kerri.French-Nelson@mtsu.edu

Advisor, FL&L, GS and PS

Ja'Net Davis, Advisor
 Foreign Language & Literatures:  A-M
Global Studies & Human Geography: A-M
 Political Science & Int'l Relations: A-M
Phone:  615-494-7651
Email:  JaNet.Davis@mtsu.edu

Christinaann Graves

 Christina-Ann Graves, Advisor
Art & Design:  N-Z
Sociology/Anthropology:  N-Z
Office:  Jones Hall 112
Phone:  615-494-7662
Email:  Christina-Ann.Graves@mtsu.edu

Sarah Perkins 

Sarah Perkins, Advisor

Africana Studies:  A-Z
English:  A-M
History:  A-M
Office:  Jones Hall 119
Phone: 615-494-7652
Email:  Sarah.Perkins@mtsu.edu

Advisor - FL&L, GS &CG and PS

Yuchun Schmidt, Advisor
Foreign Language & Literatures: N-Z
Global Studies & Human Geography: N-Z
Political Science & Int'l Relation:  N-Z
Office:  Jones Hall 108
Phone:  615-494-7753
Email:  Yuchun.Schmidt@mtsu.edu

Facebook Icon


Schedule an Advising Appointment
Instructions

Why Liberal Arts?

 

Alumni Spotlights

Peter & Kristin Demos

Justin Nelson

Marlene Sanders

Matthew Hibdon

  

New Tenure Track Faculty

 

CLA Magazine
Fall 2017

 

OHA Logo 

The executive offices of the
Oral History Association have opened at MTSU and will be here for the next five years.

The office will be co-directed by Albert Gore Research Center Director 
Louis Kyriakoudes and History Professor Kristine McCusker

The offices are located in
217 Peck Hall
Telephone: 615-898-2544.