COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS STANDING COMMITTEES EFFECTIVE AUGUST 01, 2017

Faculty Advisory Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Faculty Advisory Committee is to provide consultation to the Dean on issues brought to the committee.

Charge

The Faculty Advisory Committee shall consider agenda items forwarded to the committee from the CLA chairs and directors group or from the Dean. The committee will deliberate and provide feedback and recommend actions where relevant.

As a committee dealing with a wide variety of issues, members need to be acquainted with the functioning of the University beyond their department. Members will be expected to think about how items will have an effect on their departments when deliberating; however, the goal is to provide advice on issues of importance to the College as whole.

Structure

The committee will consist of one tenured faculty representative from each department appointed by the dean in consultation with the department chair. Department chairs are not eligible to serve. Faculty members serve staggered three-year terms. A committee chair and secretary will be elected annually at the last meeting of the academic year for the following year.

The Chair is responsible for scheduling meetings and facilitating the work of the committee in general. The Secretary is responsible for conveying information from the committee to the Dean.

CLA staff will be available for consultation and may present items to the committee but will not attend deliberations.

Awards & Scholarships Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Awards & Scholarships Committee is to advise the Dean on the annual awards program, faculty, staff, and student awards, and college-level scholarships.

Charge

The Awards Committee shall evaluate and make recommendations to the Dean regarding the annual awards event, faculty and staff nominations for annual awards student scholarships, and related matters. An annual report of the committee's activity will be provided by June 01.

Structure

The committee will consist of at least five tenured or tenure-track faculty members with no more than one member from each department appointed by the dean in consultation with the department chair. Department chairs are not eligible to serve on this committee. Faculty members serve staggered two-year terms. A committee chair and secretary will be elected annually at the last meeting of the academic year for the following year.

The Chair is responsible for scheduling meetings and facilitating the work of the committee in general. The Secretary is responsible for conveying information from the committee to the Dean and providing the annual report.

Promotion & Tenure Committee

See College of Liberal Arts Promotion and Tenure policy for details.

CLA Awards Committee, 2022-2023

Department	Member	Term (Academic Years)
Art and Design	Michael Baggarly	2022-2024
Communication Studies	Yang Kim	2022-2024
English	Poushali Bhadury	2022-2024
History	La Shonda Mims	2021-2023
School of Music	Dr. Chris Combest	2021-2023
Political Science and International Relations	Dr. David Trowbridge	2021-2023
World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures	Dr. Luciana Prestes	2021-2023