Meet the Partners

Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) is a large (24,000 students), comprehensive, Ph.D. granting institution founded in 1911 as a normal school to train teachers. Teacher education is still a signature program at MTSU and the university has trained over 25% of all K-12 teachers in Tennessee. In addition to education, MTSU has nationally recognized programs in basic and applied sciences, business, mass communications, and liberal arts. MTSU offers 90 baccalaureate degrees, 40 masters degrees, and five doctoral degrees from 55 departments and six colleges. Located 35 miles south east of Nashville in Rutherford County, the fastest growing county in Tennessee, MTSU is the destination of choice for Valedictorians and Salutatorians across the state. Improving STEM education is a core goal of MTSU as evidenced by the commitment to a new 258,000 ft 2 science building costing over $130M. The new science building is the top capitol project for MTSU, our board of regents, the state legislature and the governor. MTSU has two computing programs in the science college—Computer Science with 350 majors and Computer Engineering Technology with 50 majors—and one in the business college—Computer Information Systems with 400 majors. All programs offer B.S. and M.S. degrees and will be included in PIIT.

Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University (AAMU) is a land-grant university and a chartered Historically Black College/University (HBCU). Alabama A & M University was founded in 1875 and was officially charted as an HBCU in 1890 as a consequence of the Morrill Acts of 1862 and 1890, which established the Land Grant State Universities. The University is located in Normal, Alabama, about six miles from Huntsville. The student body comprises about 5,500 U.S. and International students, approximately 85% of which are minority. Fifty seven percent of students are female.
The Department of Computer Science at AAMU enrolls approximately 400 undergraduate, 67 graduate students with 13 full-time teaching and research faculty members. The department offers an ABET accredited B.S. and a M.S. degree in Computer Science. Ninety percent of CS undergraduate students are African American. The department grants, on average, about fifty B.S. degrees and ten M.S. degrees annually.

Nashville State Community College (NSCC) is a public, two-year comprehensive community college with 7,000 students founded in 1970 in Nashville, Tennessee. NSCC serves a geographically diverse seven-county service area in middle Tennessee that includes urban, suburban, and rural populations. NSCC is a member of the State University and Community College System of Tennessee, which is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents. NSCC offers the Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, and the Associate of Applied Sciences degrees, as well as Technical Certificates and Career Advancement Certificates in over 40 fields. NSCC offers associate degrees in computer information systems, computer technology, and computer network technology with a total of over 300 majors.

The Nashville Technology Council, an affiliate of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, is an exclusive, C6 nonprofit organization devoted to helping the Middle Tennessee technology community succeed. The NTC's membership has grown to more than 330 organizations throughout Middle Tennessee, including technology companies, technology employers, service providers, educational institutions, government agencies, and non-profit companies interested in supporting the growth of technology businesses in Middle Tennessee.

Mind2Marketplace (M2M) is an organization dedicated to helping bring the brightest and best ideas in middle Tennessee technology to reality, with job creation the ultimate goal. Realizing the "idea to paper to product/service to jobs" isn't an automatic process, M2M was formed to help establish an aggressive strategic connection between people and organizations with marketable ideas and the final marketplace. M2M covers the 40-county area in middle Tennessee surrounding Nashville with a diagonal connection to partners at the Oak Ridge National Laboratories and NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama.

Public high schools in Rutherford County TN (MTSU), Davidson County TN (NSCC), and Madison County AL (AAMU) will participate in this project. Rutherford County has 7 public high schools serving more than 9,000 students. Davidson County has 18 public high schools serving more than 20,000 students. Madison County has 14 public high schools serving close to 14,000 students.

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number 0917840. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.