Meet the Management Team

Dr. Tom Cheatham has been a professor of mathematics, a professor and chair of computer science, and is currently the dean of the College of Basic and Applied Science at MTSU. Dr. Cheatham has served as PI on a number of large, multi-year federal projects and will donate 10% of his time to PIIT for management purposes.

Dr. Cen Li is an associate professor of computer science at MTSU. She has an active research program in machine intelligence. She has been a Co-PI on NSF-CCLI and NSF-CPATH funded projects. Dr. Li has been an organizer and presenter for the LEGO robotics workshop at the annual "Expand Your Horizon (EYH)"; program held at MTSU (2002-2008). The EYH program is a hands-on science and math conference for the area middle school female students. In summer 2008, Dr. Li led a team of college and high school students in a summer research project on "Programming the Khepera II robot for navigation and exploration."; The team successfully developed the hybrid robot program control software that allows the Khepera II robot to autonomously navigate and explore in an office-like environment.

Dr. Zhijiang Dong is an assistant professor of computer science at MTSU with research in software systems. He is a Co-PI on the new NSF-CPATH award and a NSF CCLI grant. He is committed to engaging students in active learning in his CS classes.

Mr. Kevin Harris is the Program Coordinator for Computer Technology and Assistant Professor in Computer Networking Technology at NSCC. He is a graduate of the Tennessee Board of Regents Academic Leadership Institute (RALI) which is a year-long leadership development program designed to provide ongoing support to academic leaders at all TBR colleges and universities. He also is a member of TN Cyber Education Consortium (CSEC) which is dedicated to building an information security workforce who will play a critical role in implementing the national strategy to secure cyberspace. He is committed to increasing information security awareness. Other interests include working with those affected by the digital divide.

Dr. Jian Fu, an associate professor of computer science at AAMU, has research interest in multi-media systems. Dr. Fu teaches undergraduate and graduate students and engages many students in research projects. In 2008 he received the AAMU James Edward Zimmerman Award for research.

Ms. Andrea Loughry is the Chair of Mind2Marketplace providing excellent leadership during the creation of the organization over the past two years. M2M has hired an Executive Director, Ms. Sandy Ponder, who is responsible for the day-to-day operations of M2M and will be PIIT's primary contact with M2M.
Mr. J. Tod Featherling is the new President and CEO of the NTC and he feels that PIIT is a great companion for a project the Council is currently supporting called T3: Turning the Tide on Technology which deals with a lack of student interest in computing technology careers.

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number 0917840. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.