Department Awards 2017-18

Congratulations to receipients of College of Liberal Arts Awards

Janeth Almazan received the Department Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award and the College of LIberal Arts Outstanding Student Award.
Almazan Award 2017-18  Almazan Award

Dr. Lisa Langenbach received the MTSU College of Liberal Arts Faculty Teaching Award. 

langenbach award 2017-18 langenbach award -2 2017-18

CONGRATULATIONS to the Department of Political Science and International Relations 2017-18 AWARD RECIPIENTS.

Outstanding Graduate Student Award -- Michael Hester
Norman L. Parks Award – Freya Cartwright (graduating May 2018)
C. Sims Award – Janeth Almazan (graduating May 2018)
John W. Burgess Award – Jason Fleischmann (graduating May 2018)
Jack Justin Turner Award – Tiffany Miller (graduating May 2018) and Carson Turner (graduated December 2017)

Memorial and dedication for Dr. Clyde Willis

During a memorial ceremony on March 24, 2018 celebrating the life of Dr. Clyde Willis who passed away in July 2017, the Department renamed and dedicated Peck Hall Room 211 "The Clyde Willis Symposium Room". A scholarship fund was created to honor Dr. Willis upon his retirement. To contribute to the scholarship, visit

Clyde Willis

Department Welcomes New Department Chair,

Dr. Michael Federici

FedericiDr. Federici will be joining us in August  as  department chair. He brings with him over 25 years of teaching experience at Mercyhurst University in Pennsylvania where he also served as department chair, faculty senate president, and on the board of trustees. His. teaching and research areas include American Government, Constitutional Law, Civil Liberties, Political Theory, and American Political Thought. He received his Ph.D. in Politics from The Catholic University of American in Washington, D.C. (1990), his M.A. from CUA in 1985, and his B.S. in Economics from Elizabethtown College in 1983. Dr. Federici has published five books, The Challenge of Populism (1991), Eric Voegelin: The Restoration of Order (2002), The Political Philosophy of Alexander Hamilton published by Johns Hopkins University Press (June 2012), Rethinking the Teaching of American History, (an edited volume; Butler Books 2012), and a co-edited collection of essays entitled, The Culture of Immodesty in American Life and Politics: The Modest Republic (Palgrave Macmillan, May 2013).

Congratulations to 2017-18 Scholarship Recipients

  • Talea Rahman -- Joann Arnold Memorial Scholarship
  • Sarah Dixon -- Jane Duke Memorial Scholarship Fund 
  • Janeth Almazan -- George and Cynthia Vernardakis Scholarship
  • Gregory Stallworth -- Norman Parks Scholarship 
  • Jacob Myre -- Harry Horne International Relations Scholarship 
  • Kimora Cross -- Sloan Scholarship 
  • Devin Irish -- Kious Scholarship
  • TBD -- Ray Scholarship    

CONGRATULATIONS to the Department of Political Science and International Relations 2016-17 AWARD RECIPIENTS.

  • James Colge Hodge and Jodi Schockney  (Normal Parks Award)
  • Mitchell Brisbon and Connor McDonald  (C.C. Sims Award)
  • Agnes Porter (John W. Burgess Award)
  • Caitlin Henderson (Jack Justin Turner Award in IR)
  • Cole Hodge and Wesley Eke (Meritorious Award, Mock Trial)
  • Erika Helgelson (Meritorious Award, Model UN)
  • Jodi Schockney (Meritorious Award, Mediation)

Current and former students publish their research in the Russian Compendium the Belgorod Dialogue - 2016. The Problems of Philology, General and National History: A Compendium of Materials of the 8th Youth Academic Forum, A.I. Papkov, editor. To see their work, click here.

 Spring 2017 Newsletter
Spring Newsletter p1

 Student Handbooks for PS and IR Majors 2015 Edition

Cover page for handbook   Cover page for handbook

NEW Accelerated Bachelor to Masters Program in International Relations/International Affairs


Facebook Icon