Dean of the College of Mass Communication - Search Committee

 Candidates Position Description Search Committee Timeline

Chair, Search Committee

  • Pete Fisher, Vice President and General Manager, Grand Ole Opry


  • Mike Boyle, Dean, University College

Department Chair

  • Billy Pittard, Chair, Department of Electronic Media Communication

Graduate Programs/Research Faculty

  • Larry Burriss, Professor, School of Journalism
  • Robert Wood, Professor, Department of Recording Industry


  • Jennifer Woodard, Assistant Professor, Department of Electronic Media Communication
  • Jan Quarles, Professor, Department of Electronic Media Communication
  • Sanjay Asthana, Associate Professor, School of Journalism
  • John Bodle, Professor, School of Journalism
  • Cosette Collier, Professor, Department of Recording Industry
  • Matthew O'Brien,  Associate Professor, Department of Recording Industry

Centers of Excellence, Endowed Chairs

  • Dale Cockrell, Director, Center of Popular Music

College Staff Member

  • Kiplynn F. Todd, Development Officer

Clerical Staff

  • Gail Sneed, Executive Aide, Department of Electronic Media Communication

External College Member

  • Andrew Oppmann, Associate Vice President, Marketing and Communications


  • Parker Deal, Undergraduate student, Recording Industry
  • Reshma Pudota, Graduate student, MS, Mass Communication

Community/Advisory Board

  • Carol Hudler, President / Publisher - The Tennessean
  • John Michael Seigenthaler, Jr., CEO, Seigenthaler Public Relations

Office of University Provost Liaison

  • John Omachonu, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs