About the Office

The Office of the University Provost is located in rooms 110 and 111 of the Cope Administration Building. Our regular office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The main office phone number is 615-898-2880.


Mark ByrnesMark Byrnes, Ph.D.

Interim University Provost
Email: Mark.Byrnes@mtsu.edu

 


Kim Bailey Kim Bailey

Specialist, Academic Resources
Email: Kim.Bailey@mtsu.edu
Phone: 898-5544

Responsibilities:  Preparation of Fall and Spring term Faculty Cohort reports. Preparation of the Administrative Staff and Full-Time Faculty List book for publication each Fall. Preparation and submission of CUPA faculty reporting each Fall. Banner data entry and verification of faculty credentials for reporting, University Catalog, etc. Primary liaison between Academic Affairs and Information Technology as it relates to administrative software.


Mitzi T. Brandon, M.S.

Mitzi BrandonCurriculum Specialist
Email: Mitzi.Brandon@mtsu.edu 
Phone: 904-8210 

Responsibilities: manage and maintain content of the online undergraduate and graduate catalogs and oversee approved catalog changes; ensure data integrity related to undergraduate, graduate, and TN eCampus curriculum; work with University Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Council to incorporate curricular changes and advise on approval process including implementation dates.


Chris BrewerProfile Photo

Assistant Vice Provost, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, and Research
Email: Chris.Brewer@mtsu.edu
Jones Hall, Room 200


Rebecca ColeBecky Cole

Associate Vice President, Academic Resources
Email: Becky.Cole@mtsu.edu 

Responsibilities: budget and resource allocation, faculty recruitment and hiring processes, payroll, market salary studies, workload guidelines, and faculty workload


Dr. Peter Cunningham Scott Carnicom

Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Email: Peter.Cunningham@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities:  Academic program development, approval, and management; academic policy development and implementation; curricular initiatives; general education; transfer and articulation issues; and Academic Common Market, 


David Edgar  David Edgar

Specialist, Space Planning
Email: David.Edgar@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities: Space issues


Darlene Fults     Darlene Fults 

Coordinator of Academic Affairs
Email: Darlene.Fults@mtsu.edu 
Phone: (615) 898-2881

Responsibilities: Administrative assistant to the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, grade appeals, international travel authorization, subscriptions and memberships approval processing, oversee faculty grant award budgets, Curriculum Committee paperwork processing, portal management of faculty and staff web page, and assist Director of General Education.


Keith HuberGeneral Huber

Lieutenant General, U.S. Army, (Ret.)
Senior Advisor for Veterans and Leadership Initiatives
Email: Keith.Huber@mtsu.edu
Phone: (615) 898-5267


Faye Johnson Faye Johnson

Assistant to the Provost for Special Initiatives
Email: Faye.Johnson@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities: Co-director of Learning, Teaching and Innovative Technologies Center, SACSCOC reaccreditation liaison, coordinator of Academic Master Plan implementation, faculty development, strategic planning, regional initiatives and selected special projects.


Maria Knox Maria Knox

Financial Management Analyst II
Email: Maria.Knox@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities: Accounting and website for Technology Access Fees, Data Analysis for Space Utilization


Allison McGoffin Allison McGoffin

Assistant to the University Provost
Email: Allison.McGoffin@mtsu.edu
Office: 615-898-2953



Dr. Susan Myers-ShirkSusanMyersShirk

Director of General Education 
Susan.Myers-Shirk@mtsu.edu
Office: 615-898-2386 
Peck Hall 282


Angie PriceAngiePrice

Coordinator of Academic Events
Email: Angie.Price@mtsu.edu 
Tel: 898-5941

Responsibilities: Commencement, New Faculty Orientation, Foundation Awards & Fall Faculty Meeting, Promotion & Tenure Reception, Retirement Reception, SACSCOC Conferences, Administrative Searches coordinator/support.


Lynn Sewak Sewak

Financial Management Analyst II
Email: Lynn.Sewak@mtsu.edu

Responsibilities: Provides assistance to the Associate Vice President for Academic Resources in all budget related functions and activities. Verification of education credentials for SACS for all adjuncts teaching each semester, maintenance of all adjunct faculty files and verification of pay instruments. Maintains online SACSCOC faculty roster, creates departmental staffing assessments, and monitors position budgets.


Lisa Thayer  Sharon Boyce

Specialist, Faculty Recruitment and Immigration
Email: Lisa.Thayer@mtsu.edu
Tel: 898-5128

Responsibilities: Administer faculty work flow through the MTSU online employment system to include electronic and paper work flow for all levels of faculty searches including recruitment plans, advertisements, candidate rating instruments, salary recommendations, verification of credentials for accreditation body requirements, and preparation of employment contract.


Dr. Cheryl B. TorsneyCheryl Torsney

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Email: Cheryl.Torsney@mtsu.edu
Tel: 898-2881

Responsibilities: All matters dealing with the faculty, including tenure and promotion; faculty and instructional development; academic integrity; faculty orientation and development; faculty awards and recognition; academic policy development and implementation; commencement and related activities; faculty and student concerns; and academic initiatives for the University Provost. Acts as Chief Diversity Officer for the University.


VACANT
Director of Student Academic Ethics
Email: provost@mtsu.edu 
Phone: 898-2953
Responsibilities: investigate and dispose of all academic misconduct disciplinary matters involving MTSU students per protocol; provide support services and establish lines of communication with University offices; serve as an ex-officio member of University committees; schedule hearings and train MTSU’s Academic Misconduct Committee; speak to groups about the academic misconduct process.


We welcome the opportunity to share information about our division. Contact us with your comments and questions.