Faculty Grants & Awards

Career Achievement Award

Career Achievement Award
The Career Achievement Award, created in 2000, recognizes one faculty member each year who, during the course of his or her career, has exhibited profound, sustained, and high quality contributions to the university and the profession in a variety of areas.

The recipient of the Career Achievement Award must be a full-time faculty member with a minimum 10 years of service to MTSU at the rank of full professor or 15 years of full-time service to the university.

Award candidates must be nominated by a minimum of five individuals, at least three of whom must be full-time faculty or academic administrators. A university selection committee, recommended by the Faculty Senate and appointed by the University president, will forward three finalists to a Foundation selection committee, who will then make the final choice for the award.

Nominations must be received by December 2, 2013.

Forms & Submission Information

Form/Document Available Formats
Career Achievement Award Nomination
Nominee Selection Process for Data Submission


For more information, please contact Faye Johnson, Assistant to the University Provost for Special Initiatives @ 615.898.5941.

Past Recipients
Recipients of the Career Achievement Award have been:

  • 2013
    William F. Ford, Weatherford Chair of Finance
  • 2012
    Larry L. Burriss, Journalism
  • 2011
    John R. Vile, Honors College/Political Science
  • 2010
    Gary P. Wulfsberg, Chemistry
  • 2009
    Samuel C. Ricketts, Agribusiness/Agriscience
  • 2008
    Thomas L. Tang, Management and Marketing
  • 2007
    Robert F. Carlton, Physics and Astronomy
  • 2006
    Ronald H. Aday, Sociology and Anthropology
  • 2005
    Edward M. Kimbrell, Journalism
  • 2004
    Kenneth W. Hollman
    Chairholder, Tommy T. Martin Chair of Insurance
  • 2003
    June McCash, Foreign Language and Literatures
  • 2002
    Marion Wells, Biology
  • 2001
    Phil Mathis, Biology