College of Basic & Applied Sciences 2018-2019 Committees

Previous committee assignments: 2014-2015 | 2015-2016 | 2016-2017 | 2017-2018

Curriculum Committee -  (1-year term)

This committee shall have primary responsibility for the curriculum of the College of Basic and Applied Sciences. In this regard, the Committee shall review: 1) all aspects of the educational program of the College; review and approve proposals for earned degrees to be offered and the requirements for them; 2) review and approve all departmental, general educational, and interdisciplinary courses offered by the College; 3) and formulate and review other academic policies and procedures.  

Dr. Kevin Downs (AG)- Chair  Dr Lei Miao - (ET) Meeting Date
Dr. Ferrol Aderholdt - (CS) Dr. Donald Nelson - (MATH)  
Dr. Kevin Corns - (AERO) Dr. Kim Sadler - (BIO)  
Dr. Clay Harris - (GEO) Mr. Duane Vanhook - (CCM)  
Dr. Paul Kline - (CHEM) Dean-  Ad Hoc Member  
Dr. Eric Klumpe - (PHYS) Associate Dean - Ad Hoc Member  
COL. Carrick McCarty - (MS) Cindy Johnson - Ad Hoc Member  

Retention Committee -  (3-year term)

The Retention Committee shall 1) propose ways to improve and maintain the quality of academic advising in the College and the University in consultation with faculty and department officials; 2) identify educational issues and needs related to the retention of students generally or specific student populations 3) make recommendations regarding possible response options to the issues and 4) organize programs and events that would improve student connections to the college, departments, and faculty. 

Dr. Mary Farone - (BIO) - Chair 2 year term
Dr. Samuel Huruna - (AG) 3 year term
Dr. Cen Li - (CS)  2 year term
Dr. Mary Martin - (MATH) 1 year term
Dr. Mina Mohebbi - (ET) 3 year term
Mrs. Gail Zlotky - (AERO) 1 year term
Ms. Mimi Thomas - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Jennifer Danylo - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member
Ms. Suzanna Wassom - (CBAS Staff) Ad Hoc Member

Research Committee -  (3-year term)

The Research Committee shall 1) recommend policies and programs which promote and facilitate research and scholarship in the College 2) work with ORS to identify, recommend and facilitate procedural changes that would streamline the grant submission and administrative processes 3) recommend policy and programs which promote and facilitate research and grant participation in the college 4) develop strategies for strengthening the graduate programs and 5) nominate CBAS candidates for the Distinguished Research Award. 

Dr. Racha Kadiri  - (GEO) - Chair 1 year term Research Showcase
Dr. Sal Barbosa -  (CS) 2 year term Fall 2018
Dr. Keying Ding - (CHEM) 3 year term  
Dr. Chuck Higgins -  (PHYS) 2 year term  
Dr. Rongjin Haung - (MATH) 1 year term  
Dr. Alyson Lischka - (MATH) 3 year term  
Dr. Ashley Morris - (BIO) Ad Hoc Member  
Ms. Sharon Scott - (ORS Staff) Ad Hoc member  

Teaching Committee - (1-3 year term)

The purpose of the CBAS Committee on Teaching is to promote excellence in teaching and to provide support for faculty development in the area of pedagogy: (1) Develop and help implement policies and procedures which encourage and reward effective teaching. (2) Create and implement programs, presentations, guest speakers, and workshops in the area of teaching in order to help ensure that faculty members reach their full potential as teachers. (3) Develop a more structured outlet for reflection on both the teaching and learning process and the aspirations and accomplishments of the teaching professionals. (4) Seeks ways to increase opportunities for faculty to engage in productive discussions to invigorate the teaching enterprise as it takes place within, but also outside, the classroom. (5) Recommend new and innovative procedures or evaluation techniques to measure effective teaching. (6) Work closely with the LT&ITC to support the use of formative and self-assessment techniques and materials for promoting faculty professional growth and teaching effectiveness, including strategies for robust student feedback.

In pursuit of these objectives, the committee should pay special attention to nurturing beginning faculty members and supporting faculty at all levels to effectively incorporate innovative strategies, technologies, formats, and best practices.

Dr. Grant E. Gardner - (BIO) – Chair    1 year term
Dr. Mark Abolins - (GEO) 3 year term
Dr. Sarah K. Bleiler-Baxter - (MATH) 1 year term
Dr. Nate Callender (AERO) 2 year term
Dr. Iris Gao  - (AG)  3 year term
Dr. Erin McClelland - (BIO) 2 year term

Awards Committee - (2-year term)

The Awards Committee shall:  1) determine awards to be presented by CBAS, 2) develop and establish the criteria for each award, 3) formulate and publicize an annual agenda and calendar for the awards process, 4) seek nominations throughout the college community, 5). develop and distribute supporting nomination documents, 6) select finalists based upon the selection criteria, 7) forward award finalists to the CBAS Dean, and 8) continuously review and realign selection criteria as appropriate

Dr. Joshua L. Phillips - (CS) - Chair   1 year term Meeting Date
Dr. Jacob Avila - (CCM) 1 year term TBD  
Dr. Warner Cribb - (GEOS) 1 year term  
Dr. Mis Faezipour - (ET) 2 year term  
Mrs. Nancy Miller - (CBAS Staff) 2 year term  
Mr. Peter Neff - (AERO) 1 year term  
Dr. Suman Neupane – (PHYS) 1 year term  
Dr. Amy Phelps – (CHEM) 1 year term  
Dr Nate Phillips - (AG) 2 year term  
Dr. Cindi Smith-Walters - (BIO) 1 year term  
Mr. Carey Snowden - (CBAS Staff) 2 year term  
Dr. Dong Ye - (MATH) 2 year term  
Dean or designee Ad Hoc Member  


College of Basic and Applied Sciences 
MTSU, Box 83, Murfreesboro, TN 37132 
Phone: 615-898-2613