Professional Staff

Timothy Odegard, Ph.D.
Tim.Odegard@mtsu.edu
Chairholder, Murfree Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies
Professor of Psychology

Jennifer Flipse, Ph.D.
Jennifer.Flipse@mtsu.edu
Director, Tennessee Center for Study and Treatment of Dyslexia

Melinda Hirschmann, Ed.D., CALT
Melinda.Hirschmann@mtsu.edu
Assistant Director for Educational Services and School Outreach

Erin Alexander, Ed.S., NCSP, CALT
Erin.Alexander@mtsu.edu
Assistant Director for Clinical Services

Emily Farris, Ph.D.
Emily.Farris@mtsu.edu 
Assistant Director for Educational Services and Research Initiatives


Support Staff

Kim Haag
Kimberly.Haag@mtsu.edu
Executive Aide, Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies

Graduate Assistants

Students pursuing Master’s degree in School Psychology:

  • Lauren Hunsicker
  • Kellie Payne
  • Chelsea Thorpe

Students pursuing a PhD in Literacy Studies:

  • Sarah Jenkins
  • Ifeoluwa Popoola
  • Susan Porter
  • Pamela Shewalter