Carnegie Classification

In 2008 Middle Tennessee State University was awarded the Carnegie Community Engagement Classification and was reclassified in 2015. The Community Engagement Classification recognizes higher education's commitment to community engagement. Drawing its criteria heavily from Campus Compact's Indicators of Engagement Project, this classification reaffirms institutional commitment to deepen the practice of service and to further strengthen bonds between campus and community.

Carnegie Classifications comprise a leading framework for describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education. The Community Engagement Classification is an elective classification for which institutions may voluntarily apply to be listed. Carnegie defines Community Engagement as the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities (local, regional/state, national, global) for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.
The Community Engagement Classification was initiated in 2005 as a pilot classification, and there are 3 categories of the classification:

  • Curricular Engagement
  • Outreach & Partnerships
  • Curricular Engagement and Outreach & Partnerships

Carnegie Logo

honor roll