Download PDF

Voices of Love (Musical Group) audio tapes and photographs

Accession Numbers


Physical Description

2 audio tapes (TCD-0177. TTA-0177)

9 photographs


15 May 1993.

Agency History/Biographical Sketch

The Voices of Love is a gospel group consisting of Rev. James McCord, Michael Dixon, Margaret Spence, Rev. Johnny Rogers, John Hill, Huey Brown, John Phillips, Joe Whitaker, Robert Merritt, and Edward Bowens.

Provenance and Acquisition Information

The audio tapes were recorded by Center audio specialist Bruce Nemerov.  The photographs were taken and have been identified by Robert Cogswell, Tennessee state folklorist.

Scope and Content

These recordings and photographs document a performance by the Voices of Love gospel music group at Cabin Row Missionary Baptist Church, Montgomery county Tennessee on 15 May 1993. A list of group members and of the songs performed, prepared by Dr. Robert Cogswell, Tennessee state folklorist, and a log of the audio tapes, prepared by Bruce Nemerov, follow.


These audio tapes are filed first by format, then by tape number, in the audiovisual archives. These photographs are filed by name in the proper name iconographic collection.


Voices of Love


Nemerov, Bruce, Cogswell, Robert

Spring Fed
CPM Store Button
American Guitar Button
Hedrick Collection Link
American Vernacular Music Manuscripts
Soul of a songwriter graphic
My Homeland Tennessee
Charles K. Wolfe
Sam T Lucas
Kenneth S. Goldstein
newsletter button 

CPM logo  

Contact Us

facebookinstagramtwitterspotifyYouTube Logo

CME Logo