August 16, 2018 Article from GOBLUERAIDERS.COM

Stockstill, Simpson earn C-USA Scholar Athlete awards

photos of Brent Stockstill and Edward SimpsonIRVING, Texas - Conference USA faculty athletics representatives announced their selections of the 2017-18 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards on Thursday, and two Middle Tennessee student-athletes were selected.

Former men's basketball standout Edward Simpson and redshirt senior football player Brent Stockstill were among the 18 student-athletes selected. It was Simpson's first award and Stockstill's second.

The C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport, determined by a vote of the league's 14 FARs. The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA's full-time and affiliate institutions in 17 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track and field). Rice led the way with eight student-athletes receiving the Scholar Athlete Award. Stockstill, Charlotte's Haley Pace and Rice's Elsa Racasan were repeat honorees after earning the award in 2016-17.

Please see below for the complete list of this year's honorees:


Sport Recipient
Baseball Nick Sandlin, Southern Miss
Men's Basketball Ed Simpson, Middle Tennessee
Women's Basketball Erica Ogwumike, Rice
Men's Cross Country Adolfo Carvalho, Rice
Women's Cross Country *Elsa Racasan, Rice
Football *Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee
Men's Golf Mitchell Meissner, Rice
Women's Golf Maggie Simmermacher, Old Dominion
Men's Soccer Jason Beaulieu, New Mexico #
Women's Soccer Martha Thomas, Charlotte
Softball *Haley Pace, Charlotte
Women's Swimming & Diving Anna Lynch, Marshall & Marie Claire Schillinger, Rice
Men's Tennis Eric Rutledge, Rice
Women's Tennis Lindsey Hodge, Rice
Men's Track & Field Scott Filip, Rice
Women's Track & Field Morgan McIntyre, WKU
Women's Volleyball Jessica Lucas, WKU

* Repeat winner
# Affiliate member