August 11, 2021 Article from GOBLUERAIDERS.COM


Burgess named C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year

photo of Summer Burgess

DALLAS – Middle Tennessee softball's Summer Burgess was named the 2020-21 Conference USA Softball Scholar Athlete of the Year Wednesday.

The awards, voted on by C-USA's 14 Faculty Athletics Representatives, are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport based on academic achievement, athletic achievement and service. Burgess was one of 17 scholar-athletes selected.

A native of Delray Beach, Fla., Burgess capped off her decorated Blue Raider career in 2021 as the program's all-time leader in hits (270), games played (245), games started (245), at bats (812), singles (228), walks (91) and assists (512).

In 48 games played in 2021, Burgess hit .302 with a team-best 11 doubles, three triples and 28 runs scored.

2020-21 Scholar Athlete Award Winners

Baseball - Mitchell Hartigan, Florida Atlantic
Men's Basketball - Max Fielder, Rice
Women's Basketball - Nancy Mulkey, Rice
Men's Cross Country - Hociel Landa, Rice
Women's Cross Country - Grace Forbes, Rice
Football - Hunter Duplessis, UTSA
Men's Golf - Nick Robillard, UAB
Women's Golf - Mary Joiner, WKU
Men's Soccer - Pedro Dolabella, Marshall
Women's Soccer - Merideth Hamby, Charlotte
Softball -Summer Burgess, Middle Tennessee
Women's Swimming & Diving - Ellery Parish, Rice
Men's Tennis - Sumit Sarkar, Rice
Women's Tennis - Elizabeth Stefancic, Marshall
Men's Track & Field - Corbett Fong, Rice
Women's Track & Field - Grace Forbes, Rice
Volleyball - Sydney Rowan, Charlotte