Freshman Council

Spring 2021 Meeting Calendar

Freshman Council is an introductory program within the Student Government Association with an emphasis on leadership development and community engagement. Councilors consist of a diverse selection of students who go through an application and interview process from a pool of talented first year students.

As a Councilor, you’ll learn how SGA works and how to turn your ideas into solutions by passing and implementing legislation. You’ll also receive the ultimate introduction to campus through guided leadership development opportunities that will give you a jumpstart on figuring out the things you want to care about during your time at MTSU. Being a Freshman Councilor means you’re the go-to representative for Freshman and first year students at MTSU.

You’ll listen to the concerns of your peers and work with your fellow members of SGA to understand and address common challenges through the creation of legislation and exciting events and programs. In short, Freshman Council strives to represent the best interests of the freshman body as a whole.


There are many leadership opportunities within Freshman Council that form the Executive Branch. The Executive Branch is comprised of the President, the Vice President, Secretary, Delegate, Chairman of Student Life, the Chairman of Special Events, and the Chairman of Internal Affairs.

Executive Branch

Name Office Email
Trinity Henderson President 
Jalen Webb Vice President 
Olicia Smith Secretary 
Zachary Ouellette Senate Delegate 
Sarah Schneider Chair of Student Life 
Zoe Spikner Chair of Special Events 
Rachel Frankenberger Chair of Internal Affairs 

Freshman Councilors

Name Email Name Email
Antonio Dodson  Jenna Voiles 
Nic Morgan  Grayce Sanders 
Annissia Emanuel  Cecilia Cruz 
Natiya Wilson  Tanayia Shields 
Marym Elaarag  Janai Blakemore 
Delquan Dorsey  Caiti Milligan 
Zachary Ouellette  Zoe Haub 
Jessica Rogers  Kseniia Kozlova 
Rose Gutierrez  Jermandalon Hampton 
Jadon Parker  Tatyana Denis 
Tyriq Alston     


Who is eligible?

Any person that is considered a freshman by the university during any given semester shall be entitled to join Freshman Council. Traditionally, any first-year student at MTSU is eligible to join. Members of the Freshman Council shall have and maintain a 2.50 cumulative grade point average in the spring semester following their appointment to retain their membership in the Freshman Council.

When do we meet? How often?

Freshman Council meets every Thursday at 6:00 – 7:00 p.m. following SGA Senate meetings during the Spring and Fall semesters.

What governs the Freshman Council?

The Freshman Council constitution is the sole governing document. The SGA constitution supersedes any other document within the Student Government Association and is the ultimate point of reference.

How do I join?

Apply online via myMT or submit a printed application to Student Union 330 or 306 when applications are open.

What are the benefits of joining Freshman Council?

Student Government is an excellent leadership training experience, which makes it a great addition to any academic or professional resume. Being a member of SGA is a great opportunity to meet new people and make long lasting relationships with a diverse group of students.

Do I need to be interested in politics or some specialty experience?

No! Any student from any major with any interest can join both the Freshman Council and by extension SGA. Freshman Council is far more than writing legislation and adhering parliamentary procedure.


Want to be a leader?

Students interested in getting involved with Freshman Council should apply at the beginning of the Fall or Spring semester when applications are made available. We invite you to apply! For more information, please contact the Executive Vice President at

Freshman Council Application

If you are interested in being on the Freshman Council, please complete an application.  Deadline to submit applications closed on February 8, 2021.