Graduate Council

The Graduate Council plays a crucial role in the oversight and planning of all MTSU graduate courses and graduate degree programs, in establishing criteria for the appointment and re-appointment of Graduate Faculty, in assessing graduate student issues and concerns, and in recommending to the dean of the College of Graduate Studies university-wide policies and procedures for implementation. The Graduate Council advises in the modification of existing programs and in the approval and implementation of any new programs. All student work towards advanced degrees proceeds under the policies and regulations established and reviewed by academic departments, the Graduate Council, and the College of Graduate Studies.

The Graduate Council provides leadership in the pursuit of excellence in scholarly activity and serves as an advocate in obtaining resources for graduate program. Only full-time MTSU faculty who have previously been appointed to the Graduate Faculty may serve on the Graduate Council. Council members are appointed by the President to serve three-year terms with three faculty representatives per college. Two graduate student representatives who meet all graduate academic standards are also appointed. To ensure continuity and institutional memory in the creation and implementation of policies and procedures, one Council member from each college is replaced each year. Graduate students are appointed to the Council each academic year and the graduate college deans and the six academic deans serve as ex-officio members. The vice chair, who conducts meetings in the absence of the chair and who serves as chair-elect, and the recording secretary of the Graduate Council are elected annually. The chair, in consultation with the dean of the College of Graduate Studies, is responsible for setting the Council's agenda.


Pam Morris, Chair

Member Subcommittee Rank Subcommittee
Sally Ann Cruikshank   Scholarships
Michael Fleming   Graduate Faculty Status
Brandon Grubbs Chair Scholarships
Yi Gu   Policy
Shannon Harmon   Scholarships
Amy Harris Vice Chair of Council Curriculum
Jwa Kim Chair Graduate Faculty Status
Barbara Lancaster   Curriculum
Dan Morrell   Graduate Faculty Status
Pam Morris   Curriculum
Carl Ostrowski   Graduate Faculty Status
Luciana Prestes   Graduate Faculty Status
Michael Roach   Curriculum
James Robertson   Policy
Christoph Rosenmuller   Curriculum
Saleh Sbenaty   Policy
Lisa Sheehan-Smith Chair Curriculum
Jeremy Winters Chair Policy


Meeting Schedule & Deadlines for 2020-2021

The Graduate Council schedule can now be conveniently viewed on the Academic Calendar. They are highlighted in a light blue color.

You may also find a vertical listing of all Graduate Council meetings and deadlines below the calendar near the bottom of the Academic Calendar.  

Meeting Minutes



Follow us on social media:

Twitter    Facebook    Instagram    LinkedIn