National Women's History Month

NWHM Logo Mission Statement: MTSU's National Women's History Month programming recognizes, promotes, and celebrates women's contributions and causes by providing education and entertainment from a feminist perspective that emphasizes cultural transformation to achieve social justice and women's empowerment.

The National Women's History Month Committee coordinates programming each academic year, including an opening ceremony, keynote speaker, and featured presentations

Events are held throughout the year and announced through the NWHM calendar and flyers posted on campus, though the majority are held in March and announced via our annual NWHM Calendar. To receive a copy of the calendar, contact the June Anderson Center office at or 615-898-5812.

2023 Theme

"Celebrating Women Who Tell Our Stories", recognizing women, past and present, who have been active in all forms of media and storytelling including print, radio, tv, stage, screen, blogs, podcasts, news, and social media.


Click here for our 2023 Opening Ceremony Kickoff Video 


2023 calendar

Click Here for a PDF of this year's Calendar of events. Please note that this is a folded calendar, and the first page is upside down for that purpose.

Other local events:

WHM Sevierville

A vote of her own

Equali-TEA 2023


To reserve your Equali-TEA tickets on eventbrite, please click here:


Submit an event to be included on the calendar

In addition to programming the Committee organizes, we welcome proposals for co-sponsored NWHM events or requests to add events to our Calendar.

Participate in our "MTSU Women Storytellers" Event

The June Anderson Center is hosting a MTSU Women Storytellers Event on Wednesday, March 15th, 2023 from 11am-1pm in the MTSU Phillips Bookstore. 

Submit a Funding Co-Sponsorship Proposal

In addition to programming the Committee organizes, we welcome proposals for co-sponsored NWHM events or requests to add events to our Calendar. To submit a proposal, please complete a NWHM Proposal Form. Proposals are evaluated in the order received, based upon their adherence to the NWHM mission statement, their contribution to the diversity of programming, and the availability of funds. The Co-Sponsorship Subcommittee meets to review proposals. 

Previous NWHM Button Honorees and Keynote Speakers

Year Button Honoree Keynote Speaker
2008 Angela Davis Rebecca Walker
2009 Shirley Chisholm bell hooks 
2010 Gloria Steinem Gloria Steinem 
2011 Frida Kahlo  
2012 Annie Sullivan Marlee Matlin
2013 Sally Ride Sheril Kirshenbaum
2014 Sojourner Truth Soledad O'Brien
2015 Maya Angelou Lisa Ling
2016 Benazir Bhutto Judy A. Smith
2017 Madam C.J. Walker Laila Ali
2018 Pat Summitt Shalon D. Pillow & Tiffany Woosley
2019 Aretha Franklin Julie Cohen
2020 & 2021 Mary Eliza Church Terrell
Ida B. Wells Barnett
Alice Paul
Dr. Mary Frances Berry
2022 bell hooks Dr. Jacqueline Walters
2023 Toni Morrison Nancy Giles


Committee Chair and NWHM Coordinator

Dr. Maigan Wipfli
June Anderson Center for Women & Nontraditional Students 
Phone: 615-898-2193

Associate Chair

Dr. Vicky MacLean
Director of Women's Studies
Phone: 615-898-5961


Register to Vote

Campus Events

Facebook  Instagram

Check out the Off-Campus Housing website for info on:

  • Carpooling
  • Roommates
  • Buying/Selling Furniture
  • Off-Campus Housing

Office Location & Hours

Student Union 330

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Appointments available by request.