Accreditation and Authorization


Middle Tennessee State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, specialist, and doctorate degrees. Middle Tennessee State University also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of Middle Tennessee State University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (

MTSU has been accredited since 1928; SACSCOC last reaffirmed the University’s accreditation in 2016. The next decennial reaffirmation of accreditation will take place in 2026. 

NC-SARA (State Authorization)

The National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) is a nonprofit organization that helps expand students’ access to educational opportunities and ensure more efficient, consistent, and effective regulation of distance education programs.  MTSU is a participant under the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) and is authorized to offer online courses and programs to any other SARA state members.   

Out-of-State Students Interested in an Online Degree from Middle Tennessee State University

State and federal laws require colleges and universities to be authorized to offer online degree programs in states other than their own. Below is a list of states in which Middle Tennessee State University is authorized to offer online degrees.  Individuals from states not listed below are unable to enroll in MTSU online programs.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana (does not include any programs from the Tech Schools)
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin  
  • Wyoming

The following information will assist you in navigating resources for resolving any complaints or concerns you may have about how your MTSU academic online program is administered.