What We Do

Have an idea for an initiative or event? Email us at pcsw@mtsu.edu.


Curriculum Integration Grants
Grants to help integrate women's experiences and perspectives into the curriculum.

Upcoming Events

MTSU National Women's History Month 2021


               MTSU National Women's History Month 2021 calendar of events.

Past Events


NWHM 2021 Keynote Speaker - Dr. Mary Frances Berry

Tuesday, March 16th at 7:00PM via Zoom

Mary Frances Berry, former chair of the U.S. Civil Rights Commission across four presidential administrations, believes that each generation has the responsibility to make a dent in the wall of injustice. Her clarion call challenges everyone to stand up, stand tall, and never give up the fight.
Co-sponsored by Distinguished Lecture Committee, American Association of University Women–Murfreesboro Branch, and the MTSU President’s Commission on the Status of Women
Contact: Maigan.Wipfli@mtsu.edu

A poster with yellow and purple font advertising the keynote speaker, Dr. Mary Frances Berry, presenting Tuesday, March 16th 2021 at 7PM via Zoom.

February 4, 2021, 6:00PM-7:15PM CST

Betty Friedan’s 100th Birthday: Moving the Legacy Forward (FREE Webinar)

Hosted by the Veteran Feminists for America (VFA)

As you know, Betty Friedan wrote The Feminine Mystique (1963) and co-founded the National Organization for Women (1966). She was born on February 4, 1921, and died on February 4, 2006. To commemorate the 100th anniversary of her birth, VFA has gathered some powerful voices to reflect on how Friedan and the Second Wave women’s movement changed the world – and what the future holds for feminists.

Speakers include:

  • U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren
  • U.S. Senator Charles Schumer
  • Gloria Steinem, founder of Ms. Magazine
  • Jacqui Ceballos, Founder of Veteran Feminists of America
  • Gail Collins, author/journalist
  • Christian Nunes, NOW president
  • Jonathan Friedan, son
  • Emily Friedan, daughter
  • Heather Booth, activist
  • Eleanor Pam, VFA president
  • Muriel Fox, NOW co-founder and VFA chair

Betty Friedan flyer

Virtual Visit with Elaine Weiss, author of The Woman's Hour
November 17, 2020, 5:30PM via ZOOM
Elaine Weiss

RSVP forthcoming. Sponsored by: Rutherford Arts Alliance, American Association of University Women-Murfreesboro, League of Women Voters of Murfreesboro/Rutherford County, Middle Tennessee Lawyers' Association for Women, MTSU's President's Commission on the Status of Women

The Women's Hour Virtual Tea Party

Article: https://mtsunews.com/virtual-tea-party-womens-suffrage-aug20/ 

MTSU's President's Commission on the Status of Women partnered with the Rutherford Arts Alliance and the American Association of University Women-Murfreesboro to host a virtual tea party on August 11, 2020. The conversation focused on "The Woman's Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote" by Elaine Weiss. The book details the final weeks preceding the passage of the 19th Amendment, including "dramatic events at Nashville's Hermitage Hotel and a special session of the Tennessee General Assembly. 



ATHENA Nomination

The MTSU President's Commission on the Status of Women nominated L'Oreal Stephens for the 2020 ATHENA Award.  The event was scheduled for April 17, 2020 but was rescheduled to September 16, 2020 due to COVID-19.

Photo of PCSW Chair L'Oreal Stephens


Women Warriors

Article: https://mtsunews.com/aauw-women-warriors-tribute-2019/ 

Women Warriors: A Celebration of Women Veterans was held November 5, 2019 at the MTSU MT Center. Speakers included were Dr. Hillary Miller, director of the MTSU Charlie and Hazel Daniels Veterans and Military Family Center and Beverly Groogan, the women's health coordinator and maternity care coordinator for the Veterans Administration in Murfreesboro (keynote). Honorees include: 

  • Anita L. Herron, who served for 27 years in the U.S. Army, the last five as Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps instructor at Antioch High School;
  • Teresa Carter, an MTSU psychology/pre-medicine major who served in the U.S. Marine Corps;
  • Tabitha Wadford, an MTSU anthropology major who served in the U.S. Army as an all-source intelligence analyst;
  • Brittany Dinaso, a U.S. Army veteran who now is a practicing attorney in Murfreesboro;
  • Beverly Henley, a U.S. Air Force veteran who was named her squadron's Airman of the Year in 1978 and her group's Airman of the Year in 1979;
  • and Lesa Prime, who served 21 1/2 half years in the U.S. Air Force in security forces; her award will be accepted by Marcia F. Rambert.

This event was hosted by the American Association of University Women Murfreesboro (TN) Branch and sponsored by MTSU's June Anderson Center for Women and Nontraditional Students, the MTSU President's Commission on the Status of Women, MTSU's Charlie and Hazel Daniels Veterans and Military Family Center, and MTSU's Office of Institutional Equity and Compliance.




2019 Equali-TEA

Article: https://www.murfreesborovoice.com/article/2358/uncle-nearest-ceo-to-keynote-2019-equali-tea 

Equali-TEA is a (hats optional) high tea held annually in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, to raise scholarship and programming funds for the Middle Tennessee Fund for Women and Girls and AAUW Murfreesboro. This year, the event was held April 2, 2019 in the MTSU Miller Education Center Atrium. Fawn Weaver, co-founder of Uncle Nearest Premium Whiskey, presented the First Tennessee Keynote Speech. Diane Turnham, MTSU's Senior Associate Athletic Director and Senior Women's Administrator, received the 2019 Tempest Award. This event was sponsored by: MTSU's June Anderson Center for Women and Nontraditional Students, Ameriprise Financial: Sexton and Associates, First Tennessee, Tommy & Jeanne Bragg, Dr. Liz Rhea, RayNa Corp. , Spring Consulting, MTSU President's Commission on the Status of Women, and Dr. Susan T. Andrews of Family Practice Partners.