Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Training
Updated September 13, 2016
The Tuesday/Thursday session of the EMT class is now open for registration.
Due to the 2013 restructuring of Emergency Medical Services in the state of Tennessee, the EMS program at MTSU will now consist of two courses, an EMT course and an Advanced EMT course. The EMT course will take approximately 7-1/2 months to complete. A short break will then ensue to give the students who successfully finish to take and pass the National Registry exam. Proof of passing the National Registry exam must be furnished before starting the Advanced EMT course.
Due to the limited number of slots in the classes, seats are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Full payment is due at the time of registration. Payment by credit/debit card is advised. Payment by check must be received within 5 business days of registration or the registration will be purged.
This class will meet Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6 p.m. – 9 p.m. on scheduled lecture nights. On practical skills training nights, the class will meet from 6 p.m. – 10 p.m. The class will begin on Tuesday, October 18th and will run through early May, 2017.
Classes will be held in the training room of MTSU's University College at 503 East Bell Street in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.
Cost of EMT Course (does NOT include fee for the Advanced EMT course):
$1599.00 – This includes tuition, books, a software scheduling license for clinical rotations and liability insurance. Uniforms, drug screen, background checks, etc. are NOT covered and will be the responsibility of the student, but should not be purchased prior to the first meeting of class.
Full payment is due at the time of registration. There are no split payments, partial payments, or deferred payment options.
No college credit will be received for completing this course. Therefore, federal financial aid such as the Hope Scholarship, Stafford Loans, Pell Grants, etc. may NOT be used as payment. Admission to MTSU is not required.
Requirements for becoming licensed as an EMT in the State of Tennessee:
- Must submit a completed application for licensure.
- Must be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
- Must be able to read, write, and speak the English language.
- Must possess an academic high school diploma or a general equivalency diploma (G.E.D).
- Must have no history within the past three years of habitual intoxication or personal misuse of any drugs or the use of intoxicating liquors, narcotics, controlled substances, or other drugs or stimulants in such manner as to adversely affect the person’s ability to practice as an emergency medical technician.
- Must present evidence to the Office of Emergency Medical Services of a medical examination certifying physical health sufficient to conduct activities associated with patient care, including, but not limited to, visual acuity, speech and hearing, use of all extremities, absence of musculoskeletal deformities, absence of communicable diseases, and suitable emotional fitness to provide for the care and lifting of the ill or injured. This information shall be provided on a form approved by the Board and shall be consistent with the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the requirements of National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.
- Must successfully complete an EMS Board approved Emergency Medical Technician course.
- Must achieve a passing score on an EMS Board approved written examination.
- Must successfully complete an EMS Board approved practical examination.
- Must complete a criminal background check from the State approved vendor.
- Must pay all required application and license fees.
- Must disclose circumstances surrounding any conviction of any criminal law violation other than minor traffic violations, denial of professional licensure/certification, discipline, loss or restriction of licensure or certification by any other state or discipline.
- Must complete entire license process within two years of course completion.
- If requirements for certification are not completed within two years of date of initial application, the application will be considered abandoned and will be destroyed.
This class is eligible for Montgomery GI Bill and Post 9/11 veteran's benefits. However, you must pay for the class at the time of registration and then be reimbursed by your veteran's benefits. This class is NOT eligible for any VA housing allowances.
The registration link is:
Additional information about this course can be found on the registration page.