• New Image Gallery
    A biochemistry degree from MTSU creates a wide array of career opportunities
  • New Image Gallery
    An NSF research grant allows MTSU chemists to develop new catalysts
  • New Image Gallery
    Chemistry professor
    Tibor Koritsanszky
    helps scientists peer
    deep inside molecules
  • New Image Gallery
    More than 80 percent of MTSU’s students will use the new science building


Chemistry Department and Pre-Professional Health Science Scholarships

Listed are the Chemistry Department and Pre-Professional Health Science Scholarships. Scholarships are awarded based on eligibility requirements and chosen by the Chemistry Department and Pre-Professional Health Science Scholarship Committees. No application is needed. Eligible recipients are automatically considered and will be notified if further information is needed. Recipients are informed when the scholarship has been awarded.

Jubran M. and Judith H. Wakim Chemistry Scholarship is awarded in the spring semester to a full-time freshman chemistry student who has successfully displayed scholarly achievement in General Chemistry I at MTSU.

Dan D. Scott Chemistry Scholarship is a fall and spring award, given to a chemistry major who has successfully completed Quantitative Analysis at MTSU.

Bio Ventures, Inc. Chemistry Scholarship is awarded in the spring semester to a Professional Chemistry major who has demonstrated academic ability and participates in other departmental activities.

J.E. Wiser Graduate Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding Chemistry Graduate student as determined by the Chemistry Department Faculty. The award is given based on academic achievement, teaching ability and professionalism.

Robert Brent Cook Memorial Scholarship is awarded to junior or senior pre-medical students with proven academics and financial need. Preference is given to students from Williamson County.

Aaron and Clara Todd Pre-Dental Scholarship is awarded to a junior pre-dental student with a minimum overall GPA of 3.0 and a minimum 3.0 GPA in core science courses taken at MTSU. Participation in extracurricular activities such as Delta Delta Sigma and a demonstration of qualities integral to the pursuit of a dental career are considered in awarding this scholarship.

Richard and Mary Ann McClary Scholarship is awarded to students majoring in Chemistry, Professional Chemistry, Math, or Biology. It is also based upon academic achievement and extracurricular departmental activities.

MTSU Chemistry Club Undergraduate Research Scholarship is awarded to a student who is a member of the ACS Chemistry Club and has demonstrated high quality research.

J.H. Hutchinson MTSU Chemistry Club Leadership Award is awarded to a student who is actively involved in the leadership of the Chemistry Club and demonstrates high quality undergraduate research.

Robert Boyd Chemistry Scholarship is awarded to a Chemistry major who has earned a minimum of 30 semester hours and has successfully completed General Chemistry I & II.

L/P Drs. Elizabeth and Creighton Rhea #1 Pre-Medicine Scholarship is an eight semester award given to an incoming pre-medicine student. Award is based upon academic excellence and extracurricular activities in high school.

L/P Virginia McCullough Pre-Medicine Scholarship is an eight semester award given to an incoming pre-medicine student. Award is based upon high school leadership and college activities.

Albert L. and Ethel Carver Smith Memorial Scholarship is awarded equally between pre-medicine and pre-pharmacy students. Award is based upon a minimum of 60 completed semester hours, successful completion of Organic Chemistry I, a minimum 3.5 GPA, and participation in extracurricular activities.

Additional Scholarships

Research Scholarships: Four programs exist on campus to fund research.

McNair Scholars program to support research students from minority or economically disadvantaged backgrounds, or first generation college students who plan to attend graduate school.

STEPMT: Applications for academic year or summer positions are available for CBAS students (+geology) as beginning (up to $500) or experienced ($1000) researchers. Winners are chosen in November of each year.

URECA: Applications for research grants ($500 - $3500) for undergraduate students are available.  Application deadlines occur in September,  January and March.

TLSAMP Alliance: Tennessee Louis Stokes Minority Participation program identifies and provides mentors for self-identified minority students and provides mentors for them. Through an alliance with area universities, including two HBCU's, minority students are placed in research positions. A few are supported through TLSAMP.

STEM Graduate Scholarships: For U.S. graduate students in the M.S. Program in the Department who can demonstrate need (via a federal FAFSA form) and who have chosen a research adviser, to assist them in completing their M.S. program work. Pays a stipend for two of three terms (spring, summer, fall) per year, while paying half of the student's tuition. Applications are available from Dr. Gary Wulfsberg of the Chemistry Department and are turned in to Dr. Rebecca Seipelt of the Biology Department (DSB 128).

June S. Anderson Foundation: Awards yearly full tuition scholarships to full-time MTSU undergraduate women who are 23 years of age or older and who are preparing for careers in nontraditional fields for women.